Lessons learned this year so far….

As a few of you know, I’ve been struggling recently with all things publishing related and wondering where I go from here. I’ve done a lot of soul searching these past few weeks trying figure it out.

The first thing I’ve realised for sure is that self-publishing is not for me. I miss the support having a publisher gives you. I’ve only self-published seriously twice, but both times it’s been a bad experience for me and really knocked me flat confidence-wise. My mental health has suffered, and to be honest it’s not worth it for me at all. (The fact that I don’t enjoy going it alone has really surprised me, because honestly usually I love doing things on my own and in my own way–I run my own business and I love being in control–but something about the process of creating stories makes me need to hand the publishing process over to someone else to be able to deal with it successfully.)

The second thing is not something new (I realised this a long time ago)—my writing doesn’t fit easily into the romance genre as it currently exists. That isn’t a problem. But it means publishing with small romance publishers who publish mainly m/m romance probably isn’t the best fit for me. Ultimately, I’m not a fan of current classifications. And most of what I write is YA anyway—queer, romance-y YA, but I’m happy for it to just be called YA.

Thirdly, I love writing. I can’t imagine not doing it. And I like sharing it. I’ve considered going back to free sites like fictionpress, and publishing work there, but when I think about my goals, earning something from writing is one of them. And if I don’t earn anything from what I write, I’ll have to cut back my writing time significantly. Which leads onto the fourth thing….

Patreon. I’ve been a patron of several artists for a while. And I really enjoy being a part of their processes. I’ve looked at sites like Go Fund Me but I prefer the interactiveness and flexibility of Patreon. So, I’ve set up an account. If you’re interested in supporting my writing journey, you can find me here.

And finally, there’s something I’ve not had the confidence to try before, and that is to seek representation by a literary agent. With an agent, I’d hopefully have greater publishing options and support—which is definitely something I need. So, my main goal this year is to try hard to get my confidence up to do that.

Over and out^^

About sukifleet

Suki Fleet currently lives in the heart of England. Her childhood was quite unconventional and she spent some time living on a boat and travelling at sea with her family. Since she was very small she has always dreamed of writing for a living, but though she has written original fiction online for years and encouraged many new writers to keep going and follow their author dreams, it is only recently she got the courage to make her own dream a reality and actually send something off to a publisher. By day she runs her own business selling fabric (her second love) and juggling family commitments, by night she weaves the stories that the characters in her head dictate. These stories often start with pain or longing but always end with love.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lessons learned this year so far….

  1. frabp says:

    Suki, your books are so good and the stories so beautifully written that I think you won’t be long looking for an agent. I am sorry to hear self publishing was hard on you – as a reader I want to make sure you know the effort you put in the process – and of course the novels – was very much appreciated.
    xf

  2. Elsa says:

    I´m with Fra here :), I could say a lot of things about the genre but I had to write them in English and it´s too much hard xD. I´m only a reader, but your stories, your writing, is better than most of what I read, and I read a lot, I want to thank you for all the happy moments you give us. I wish you all the best, we´ll be here reading.

Leave a Reply

