Echoes

L.O.V.E 2-3 cover (756x1134)

Lima Oscar Victor Echo and Truth About Everything is a free novella (27K) I wrote for the goodreads m/m romance group’s Don’t Read in the Closet event (Love is an Open Road). Authors who want to participate have to claim prompts (a picture and a reader letter giving a brief (or detailed) description of the story they’d like). The prompt I chose was from TracyG:

LOR

Story Letter

Dear Author,
I saw this picture and would love to know their story.
These two are either long-term friends or lovers, not sure which. They should be happy but for some reason they feel sad to me, maybe they have lost someone close or even a beloved pet. I don’t really know. One of them could be ill or going away. Could you please write their story?
I would like a HEA/HFN, not sci-fi or historical please, everything else is good.
Sincerely,
Tracy G

The prompt made me think of this song (which I love) Small town Boy by Bronski Beat. It’s kinda super sad. I wanted to write a story that wasn’t super sad (though I know I do have a tendency to lean that way), and I know the whole gay kid afraid to come out to homophobic father story has been written to death, but this is the story that wanted to be told, and hopefully I’ve put my own spin on it.

It’s a lot lighter or at least not as angsty as a lot of my writing, and it’s also the fastest story I’ve ever written. 27K in four weeks is now my record!

All my stories have echoes of my own experiences in one way or another. With L.O.V.E and The Truth About Everything it was about what was happening in my life when I wrote it…

The one award I wanted to be a finalist in was the Lambda Literary Awards (one of my favourite ever books was a finalist once and so it became this distant goal for a very long time).

When This is Not a Love Story was chosen I planned to go to New York for the ceremony (I’d also always wanted to visit New York so this was the absolute best excuse ever!).
So…echoes. My friends, my direct family have known that I write and that I write under a pseydonym since This is Not a Love Story was published (I was waaaay too excited to keep it a secret or even want to), but for reasons that were not my choice or really in my control a lot of people close to me didn’t know a thing. But with going to New York being quite a big event, I finally got the chance to tell them. And this was a big, big influence on the themes in L.O.V.E and The Truth About Everything.
Honesty (and the honesty of other people in your life) and being true to yourself are crucial to your sanity.

Download links for Lima Oscar Victor Echo and The Truth About Everything (it’s FREE and should be available in all ebook formats).

Goodreads (only if you’re a member I think)

Amazon.com

Amazon.co.uk

Smashwords

Barnes and Noble (Nook)

About sukifleet

Suki Fleet currently lives in the heart of England. Her childhood was quite unconventional and she spent some time living on a boat and travelling at sea with her family. Since she was very small she has always dreamed of writing for a living, but though she has written original fiction online for years and encouraged many new writers to keep going and follow their author dreams, it is only recently she got the courage to make her own dream a reality and actually send something off to a publisher. By day she runs her own business selling fabric (her second love) and juggling family commitments, by night she weaves the stories that the characters in her head dictate. These stories often start with pain or longing but always end with love.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

