Guest Post Katherine Halle

Hi everyone!

First, I want to thank Suki for having me here today! My first novella with Dreamspinner is out this week and it’s called Fixing The Hole.

I’ll be honest, looking back, I don’t even know where the original idea came from. If I had to name one event, we were visiting my in-laws and there had been some really bad storms come through and a large tree fell down in their yard. Nowhere near the house, thankfully, but still there was a tree down and they needed to handle it.

Now, they called their nephew to come chop it up and haul it to the street, but I saw just a few houses down, a tree service business doing the same thing. And the guys working for them were all young, burly, sweaty, and good looking. And I thought…what if…

Mix that in with a single homeowner who works from home…

And a story was born.

Now of course it isn’t actually that simple. A lot of work went into writing it. Characters had to be developed, named, given physical descriptions and I had to figure out how I would bring them to life for the reader. How I would get all of you to see what I saw in my head.

I also did quite a bit of research and it went through so many revisions I lost track. The version I originally wrote is different then the one up for sale now. Not wholly different but there were elements to the first draft that obviously didn’t work that were taken out and reworked. And the story grew with each revision. It started out at just under 11k and grew to almost double the size. Obviously these characters had a lot more to say then I originally thought!

I have to give credit to my team of pre-readers and beta readers because they really are what make my work shine. And then to the team of editors over at Dreamspinner – they catch even more! Leaving me with a novella that I am very proud and excited to share with all of you.

FixingTheHoleORIG_final_v01

 

Blurb:

Heavy rains and strong winds slammed an uprooted tree through Steve Crowell’s roof, leaving a gaping hole to match the one in his heart. After his ex left him for a younger man, Steve’s not sure he’s ready to handle another disaster. His best friend highly recommended the contractor, but the man’s already late, and when he shows up with his music thumping, Steve isn’t impressed—until Riley steps out of his pickup truck. Personable, gorgeous Riley talks a mile a minute, which Steve finds both ridiculously endearing and terrifying. Piecing together a heart isn’t as easy as fixing a roof, but Riley might just be the right man for the job.

Excerpt:

I was just about to look at my watch again when I heard a pickup truck come rattling up the driveway, loud pop music blaring from the open window.

Silence reigned when the engine cut off. I watched as a wiry young man opened the door and stepped out. I looked him over and took in the muscular legs shaped by a tight pair of jeans. My gaze roved over muscles barely contained by a fitted, army green Henley, finally landing on bright green eyes set in a young face under a military-style buzz cut of brown hair.

“Hi.” The young man strode forward, his hand outstretched. “I’m Riley Jones and you must be Steven Crowell. Sorry for being late. My dad tried to convince me to make him eggs and bacon instead of the oatmeal he should be eating for his heart, and he wouldn’t let up until I promised to make him a big breakfast this weekend.”

Confused by this outpouring of information, I found myself stupidly saying, “Breakfast?”

“Yeah, my mom died when I was in junior high, so it’s been the two of us for so long that I just never moved out. I mean, I was gone during college, but then I came back, started my contracting business and it was just cheaper to live with him than get my own place. Then he had some heart trouble and if I don’t make him eat right, he’ll just eat burgers and fries or those god-awful frozen dinners all the time. And wow, sorry, I just keep talking, don’t I? Why don’t you show me what you need done, Mr. Crowell?”

Buy Links:

Dreamspinner

Amazon

ARE

Bio:

Katherine Halle is known as the “Queen of Happy Endings.” She firmly believes that no matter what the obstacles, what the struggles, or how much angst is involved in the journey, that the ending should always be a happy one.

Katherine’s love of the written word started at a very early age with repeated demands of “read to me” to any who would listen. It was only natural that writing would follow. As a child, she could often be found daydreaming, thinking up fanciful stories and writing them down. Now she does it on a laptop. Much faster.

Katherine’s favorite animal is her dog. She likes books, movies, and quirky television shows, such as Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Hart of Dixie. She loves cooking and watching cooking shows. She has lived in both Europe and the United States and loved both. When she’s not writing or plotting, Katherine enjoys spending her time listening to music, reading books written by other people, and being with her family.

You can find Katherine here:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/KatherineHalle

Blog:  http://katherinehalle.wordpress.com/  or http://thraceadams.dreamwidth.org/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5761673.Katherine_Halle

Email: katherinehalle@yahoo.com

 

About sukifleet

Suki Fleet currently lives in the heart of England. Her childhood was quite unconventional and she spent some time living on a boat and travelling at sea with her family. Since she was very small she has always dreamed of writing for a living, but though she has written original fiction online for years and encouraged many new writers to keep going and follow their author dreams, it is only recently she got the courage to make her own dream a reality and actually send something off to a publisher. By day she runs her own business selling fabric (her second love) and juggling family commitments, by night she weaves the stories that the characters in her head dictate. These stories often start with pain or longing but always end with love.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Guest Post Katherine Halle

  1. Pingback: Fixing The Hole Blog Tour Day #4 | katherinehalle

  2. Nic Starr says:

    Congratulations on getting your first book out there, Katherine.

Leave a Reply

