Guest Post Michelle Rae

Today I am joined by the lovely Michelle Rae, whose new story ‘Time For Destiny’ is due out with Dreamspinner Press on the 22nd August.

TimeForDestinyORIG

Is there a book that inspired you to be an author? No so much a book but a movie my son uses to watch as a child. The movie series was discontinued as so I wrote the final story for him as a choose your own challenge. From there I had the desire to write.

What is the inspiration behind your new story? A very good friend requested a time travel story. I wanted somewhere exotic and looked into India. This fell into place when I started researching 1857 and the Sepoy rising.

Can you tell me a little about your writing process? I tend to write the entire story in the least amount of time. If I get interrupted I can lose interest in a story within days. So I write frantically, then spend several months editing. I find this works well with me. I have several stories I have started and intend to go back and finish but I never do.

In your new story, which character did you enjoy writing the most, and why? Vir is my favourite character, although the book is written from Daniels POV. Having to create a character who’s living in the past was challenging and I enjoyed making Vir both afraid and strong with his environment.

Who is your favourite secondary character in your story, and why? Nelson. I tried to make him one of those men who often thinks he’s funny, while no one else does. He’s gets on everyone’s nerves but is still likable at the same time.

Do you have a pre-writing routine you go through before you settle down to write? I have multiple notebooks I go through one after the other with all my ideas. Some go no further than pencil to paper, other go on to be completed stories.

Some scenes are easier to write than others. What scene in your new story did you find the hardest to write, and why? I had two choices with my story after my first round of edits. I either made it fantasy and removed all the facts about the past. Or I research in depth the past and made it work into my story. Therefore, I rewrote many scenes which depicted the past and the Sepoy rising.

What I found difficult was making sure the time line was accurate every time Daniel returned to the past. Also trying to describe the environment during this time I often struggled with. I can only hope the end product did it justice.

If you were stranded in space what book would you want to have with you? Price and Prejudice by Jane Austin

Which would you prefer—great reviews or great sales (assuming they are mutually exclusive)? Great sales definitely. It would be nice to give up my day job.

What do you feel is your greatest writing achievement so far? Having my first book published by a publisher is one of my greatest achievements.

How do you come up with the titles for your stories? I can have the idea of a story, and before I’ve even written it down I have the title decides. For me, titles are the easy part.

What do you look for in a good story? Strong characters. I really enjoy stories were the main characters are confident and sure of their identities. They don’t question who they are and regardless of their past, they are focused and sure of themselves.

 

Time for Destiny

TimeForDestinyORIG

Synopsis

When Daniel Wilson, oldest of five children in a troubled family, joined the military, he expected to see combat in Iraq. But it comes as quite a shock when a Rupee minted a century and a half ago transports him to that dangerous time in war-torn colonial India. After he meets and falls in love with Vir during his visit to 1857, he faces the greatest challenge of his life. He knows he may ultimately lose Vir because he belongs in a different time. Still, he wants desperately to keep his love alive despite threats of violence from both wars.

 

Inspiration

Time for Destiny came about when a good friend requested a time travel story. Her first suggestion was the early Victorian era but I felt that had been done to death. While at work and talking to a fellow worker, he suggested somewhere exotic. After a brief search of Indian history the story was born. Originally written for the 2012 National Novel Writers month Time for Destiny underwent 15 edits before being picked up. The most challenging part came at this stage. Although I felt I had covered the past well my wonderful editor found conflicting differences with the references I had used from the past. It was at this point I had to decide if I made the story more fantasy or use actual facts. I chose to use actual facts from the past and this meant some big rewrites and a lot more research. The end product was a wonderful story about love between two wars and the two men who lived in different worlds. The opportunity to be published professionally was an amazing experience and I learned a lot about how I write and how to be better.

 

Authors Bio

Michelle Rae lives in lovely Adelaide, South Australia. She began writing fan fiction for her son in 2007, which led to bigger and better things. Writing LGBT stories became her passion after discovering the genre in 2008. Determined to write her greatest story, Michelle dedicates endless hours hoping to achieve this dream. In her spare time, Michelle likes to drink tea, eat peppermint chocolate and keep the last of her sanity intact.

Visit Michelle at http://www.moralfortitude.com/, or friend her on Facebook, https://www.facebook.com/rae.kitano

Link to book

Time for Destiny

http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/product_info.php?products_id=5339&cPath=1197

About sukifleet

Suki Fleet currently lives in the heart of England. Her childhood was quite unconventional and she spent some time living on a boat and travelling at sea with her family. Since she was very small she has always dreamed of writing for a living, but though she has written original fiction online for years and encouraged many new writers to keep going and follow their author dreams, it is only recently she got the courage to make her own dream a reality and actually send something off to a publisher. By day she runs her own business selling fabric (her second love) and juggling family commitments, by night she weaves the stories that the characters in her head dictate. These stories often start with pain or longing but always end with love.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

