Guest Post Brynn Stein

Blog Tour for Living Again

Brynn stein LivingAgain

Hi all,

I’m enjoying my blog tour so far, and have gotten a fair number of responses for my give away. If you haven’t seen any of my other stops on this tour, here’s how the giveaway will work. Comment below, and go to as many sites listed in the blog schedule below and comment there as well. Each blog you comment on will earn you one entry for my giveaway. Three prizes will be given. One signed paperback copy, and two electronic copies of Living Again.

Now to talk about other things. I’ve noticed, the more I write, that at least minor characters in each story exhibit homophobic behaviors. Sometimes it’s a major arc in the story. Sometimes it’s just mentioned in passing, but it’s almost always there. This is largely because it’s there in real life. There always seems to be one homophobe in every crowd. I happen to work with one, and while none of the characters are actually based on him, some of what they say or believe are.

My coworker often finds fault with people from the LGBT community for anything and everything. I work at a private school for autistic and emotionally challenged children. In an IEP meeting for an autistic youth, this coworker actually told the same sex couple who were the child’s guardians that the only thing wrong with the kid was his parent’s living arrangement. That God was punishing them by giving them this child with all these ‘problems’.

Now, I don’t see any child as a punishment. These parents obviously didn’t either. They are among the more involved parents in a school where parent involvement is usually lacking. They come to every meeting, they always take my weekly calls, or call me back as soon as possible if they’re not home. They obviously love their son immensely and strive to help him in every way they can.

But because of one, unrelated, trait of the couple in question, my coworker felt justified in attacking them in an official meeting.

Fortunately, that is not the norm for people who work at my school. It’s not even the norm for people who live in my area. But it’s prevalent enough that I’ve seen it cause horrendous consequences in the lives of my students, friends, and family.

I had one student who was taken from a loving home with same sex parents and given back to their biological father. The child was later removed from that home because he was sexually abused by that parent. He’s finally back in the custody of his mother and her significant other, but the damage is done, and that beautiful child’s life is ruined.

There have been numerous other people in my life who have been on the receiving end of bigotry based on their sexual orientation. My brother was attacked at his school. A friend’s house was vandalized. A former coworker lost his job. The list goes on and on.

In an age where we claim to be so wise, so sophisticated, so interconnected by technology, it boggles my mind that such bigotry and hatred can still exist.

Fortunately, as I said before, it’s not the norm even here. I can probably give just as many stories about people who stood up to the homophobes on behalf of themselves or their LGBT friends or coworkers.

Our secretary put the aforementioned coworker in his place when he started bashing her nephew and his new boyfriend. A petition was taken up on behalf of the coworker who lost his job. My daughter stood up for one of her coworkers who was getting verbally bashed.

So maybe, as a society, we’re learning? We’re changing? We’re growing up and realizing that what we should be looking for in a person has nothing to do with their color or gender or sexual orientation? We truly have come a long way in the last decades. But, when I see the behavior of the few homophobes I come in contact with frequently, I can’t help but think we still have such a very long way to go.

Comment below. I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Thanks for letting me rant a little.

Brynn

 

 

Blog Schedule:

Blog Stop Date of blog Name of Host (or Name of Blog) Address of Blog
1 7/8/2014 Jessica Davies http://jessicaskyedavies.blogspot.com/2014/07/warm-hearts-relaunch-1-brynn-stein.html 
2 7/10/2014 Grace Duncan http://www.grace-duncan.com/guest-author-brynn-stein/
3 7/11/2014 Emma Tett http://emmy-j.blogspot.co.uk/2014/07/brynn-stein.html
4 7/14/2014 Tara Lain http://taralain.com/2014/07/brynn-stein-brings-living-giveaways/
5 7/16/2014 Charlie Cochet’s Tea House http://taralain.com/2014/07/brynn-stein-brings-living-giveaways/
6 7/18/2014 Lex Chase http://lexchase.com
7 7/21/2014 Anne Barwell http://anne-barwell.livejournal.com/
8 7/22/2014 Suki https://sukifleet.wordpress.com/
9 7/24/2014 JP Barnaby http://www.jpbarnaby.com/
10 7/28/2014 Tempest O’Riley http://tempesteoriley.com/blog/
11 8/4/2014 Kit Moss  http://kitmossreviews.blogspot.com
12 8/7/2014 Michael Rupured http://rupured.com
13 8/11/2014 Shae Connor http://shaeconnorwrites.com
14 8/14/2014 Charley Descateaux http://cdescoteauxwrites.com/blog
15 8/18/2014  Elizabeth Noble http://www.elizabeth-noble.com/my-blog
16 8/21/2014 Grace Duncan http://www.grace-duncan.com/graces-blog

 Brynn stein LivingAgain

Blurb of Living Again:

Daniel Larson has walled himself off from any possibility of romance since his lover died violently five years ago in Afghanistan. The same bomb that ended his partner’s life took the lower part of Daniel’s left leg. The only support Daniel has, his Uncle Lawrence, is dead-set against anything homosexual, including Daniel.

Now, a popular language teacher at the local university, Daniel’s suffering from a car accident that broke his one good leg. His uncle, who is much better at throwing money at things than offering emotional support, provides a rented power chair and a private in-home nurse. Unbeknownst to his uncle, the nurse comes in the form of a man named Jonah Thacker.

Instantly attracted, Daniel and Jonah fight their mutual feelings in favor of professionalism. They become friends anyway, and Jonah shares his life with Daniel, including his handicapped son, Ethan. As Jonah and Daniel grow closer, Daniel becomes more involved in Jonah and his son’s lives, even being there for Ethan when his medical conditions worsen. But when Daniel’s uncle finds out the nurse he’s hired is male, he uses all of his resources to keep Jonah and Daniel apart.

Buy Links:

Dreamspinner

http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/product_info.php?products_id=5240&cPath=55_887

Goodreads

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22575458-living-again?from_search=true

(links to other sites from the Goodreads page are not yet active)

 

Brynn’s Bio:

Brynn Stein has always loved to write. Fan fiction, original fiction, whatever. While Brynn wrote in numerous genres—everything from mystery, to contemporary, to supernatural—she had always tended toward strong male characters. And then she discovered “slash,” male/male romance, and all those strong male characters were finally allowed to express their love for one another. It seems that there are always at least two characters clamoring to tell Brynn their story.

Brynn lives in Virginia with one of her two two-legged children, and two four-legged ones. Her supportive family encourages her writing and provides a sounding board for fledgling stories. When she isn’t writing, Brynn teaches children with special needs. In free time, when such a thing exists, she reads anything she can get her hands on, and haunts bookstores. She draws and paints, and enjoys the outdoors—especially if she can get to the beach—and is always thinking about her next story.

Please feel free to contact Brynn at any of the following:

http://brynnstein2.wix.com/books-and-thoughts
https://twitter.com/BrynnStein
http://brynnstein2.wordpress.com
https://www.facebook.com/
brynnstein2@gmail.com

About sukifleet

Suki Fleet currently lives in the heart of England. Her childhood was quite unconventional and she spent some time living on a boat and travelling at sea with her family. Since she was very small she has always dreamed of writing for a living, but though she has written original fiction online for years and encouraged many new writers to keep going and follow their author dreams, it is only recently she got the courage to make her own dream a reality and actually send something off to a publisher. By day she runs her own business selling fabric (her second love) and juggling family commitments, by night she weaves the stories that the characters in her head dictate. These stories often start with pain or longing but always end with love.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Guest Post Brynn Stein

  1. Trix says:

    It’s hard to say. Sometimes I’ll read a story about some really awful homophobe and think it’s overblown, and then hear some real-life anecdote that spells out how close to reality things can be. I’m not far from the San Francisco Bay Area, so it may seem like more of a bubble…

    • brynnstein2 says:

      I think my bubble is all the friends I’ve met online. They’re all so accepting of each other, when I see real life people like my coworker, I really just want to crawl into the internet and stay there.

      And thanks for following my blog tour, Trix.

  2. brynnstein2 says:

    Thanks for hosting me Suki!

  3. Pingback: Blog Tour | Stein's Station

  4. JenCW says:

    Hi Bryan. I think it depends on where you are and who you are surrounded by. I used to live in the San Francisco Bay area and while people were on average more accepting there, I did notice that some were not and they just hide their dislike better. I think overall, people are getting better. The strides made though since even the 1980’s, especially the last few years are heartwarming.

    • brynnstein2 says:

      Thanks for commenting Jen. I think you’re right. It very much depends on where you are. And with all the changes through the years, I am ultimately hopeful.

  5. ardent ereader says:

    Hi Brynn. Great post. I would like to think that we are becoming more accepting of diversity as a society. Unfortunately there are always those few intolerant people.

  6. Lee Todd says:

    please count me in

  7. Rush says:

    One would think that inappropriate words would not be allowed/tolerated by the management/boss. It boggles me to think that your co-worker wouldn’t be stopped right on the spot when he was insulting the SS parents. When are these people going to realize that freedom of speech doesn’t mean freedom to bash? As my mom taught me from childhood, If you don’t have anything positive to say, don’t say anything at all. I live by that rule and have handed it down to my children. There is too much negative in this world to stick ones nose inside anyone’s bedroom to see/know who’s doing what and with whom.
    The story sounds very good. Not many characters out there are handicap. I’d love to read your book. Thanks for the giveaway!

    • brynnstein2 says:

      Thanks for your comment Rush. It boggles my mind too that my coworker gets away with it, but he does, and lucky me, I get to have him in my classroom again this year!

  8. Pingback: Blog Tour for Living Again with Giveaway | Stein's Station

  9. Pingback: Guest Author: Brynn Stein! | Charley Descoteaux

  10. Melisha Bonnette says:

    I think sometimes we are becoming more accepting but then I get reminded that there are still people that have so much hate and disregard for anyone that is different than themselves. I had a verbal run in with my husbands great uncle some months back when he didn’t like something I posted on my FB page about supporting equal marriage. He’s one of those “good Christian” people that doesn’t act the way you would think a good Christian is supposed to act. Thanks for a chance at the raffle!

  11. brynnstein2 says:

    Thanks for your comment Melisha. I entered you into the raffle again.

  12. sula22 says:

    Thank you for a chance to catch up with your blog posts and enter me into the draw to possibly win a copy of your book, I love the cover by the way and the book outline 🙂

    I live in a University town in the UK and a few friends have been bashed/beaten up in the past and not necessary because of their preferences, for instance a close friend was beaten up because he spoke ‘posh’ and another friend has his car scratched and painted with derogatory terms because he is gay. Strangely enough I think some things have improved, some of which has been the result of changes in social media communications.

    • brynnstein2 says:

      Thanks so much for commenting Sula. I went around to all the posts you commented on and added your name to the raffle before the drawing last night. I appreciate your effort to follow the blog tour, and the chance to get to know you a little.

  13. brynnstein2 says:

    Thanks so much to everyone who followed the blog tour for Living Again. I loved getting to know all of you, and I had a ball visiting all the various blog sites.

    I chose three winners to the drawing, as promised, yesterday and am now posting the winners at all the blog sites.

    The winners are:

    The signed paperback copy goes to Jen CW
    The two electronic copies go to Ardent Ereader and Trix

    Winners, please email me at brynnstein2@gmail.com to give me your information.

    Jen, I’ll need your mailing address so I can send you the signed copy. Please also tell me if you want me to put anything in particular in the signature.

    Ardent and Trix, let me know if you have a Dreamspinner account. It’s easier on this end if I can just tell them who you are and have them transfer a copy to your bookshelf. If you need other arrangements, please let me know that too.

    Again, thanks SO much to all the hosts who helped me out, and thanks to all you who commented.

Leave a Reply

