Blog Hop

Many thanks to the wonderful Nic Starr for tagging me in this Blog Hop. You can check out previous stops on the Blog Hop here:

Nic Starr

Penny Brandon

Renae Kaye

Michelle Rae

Beany Sparks

 Khul Waters

 Ellen Cross

 Evi Asher

 

My writing process

 

  1. What am I working on?

Well, a few things, though I focus better when I just concentrate on one 😛

I have about a third of the way to go with ‘Wild Summer’ a spin off sequel to my novel ‘This is Not a Love Story’ (due to be published in May). One of the side characters, Crash, was a favourite of mine when writing ‘This is Not a Love Story’ and I knew he deserved his own story- in fact he has requested it a few times now.

I am also thinking hard about a partially completed novel I have called ‘All Cats Are Grey’ which is a YA gay romance about love, autism and synesthesia. This one is my experimental write.

 

  1. How does my work differ from others of its genre?

I have no idea really. I am inspired by many great authors- some who write in this genre and some who don’t.

I write YA or NA contemporary romance. I don’t do school/college stories and often my characters have problems that they have no control over, be they physical or mental.

I strive to create original story lines and I’d hate to be predictable.

I just want to show whatever the situation, however dire the circumstance, love will out, you know, it will conquer. I want to write stories that give hope for everyone looking for a love story.

 

  1. Why do I write what I do?

I started off writing horror when I was younger, but love stories have always resonated with me as a reader and when I started to write them I knew I had found my groove. My first ones always had gender ambiguous characters. But when I started to write gay characters it just felt right. These were the love stories I wanted to tell. These were the love stories in my head.

 

  1. How does my writing process work?

I’ll have a vague idea for a story, or just a title sometimes (I love thinking up titles). I’ll always see the where I’m headed (the direction I want the ending to go in) and I’ll start. I don’t generally plan until I’ve got the voice/tone of the story right and that takes a few chapters for me to be sure. Then I’ll write until I run out of steam a bit and do some planning. Most of the time I write with what can feel like a lack of awareness of what I am doing, if I plan too meticulously it seems to kill my inspiration.

‘This is Not a Love Story’ (due to be published end of May 2014) began with my desire to write a love story about two homeless boys. It wasn’t planned until perhaps two thirds of the way through and then I wrote this page of note (that I found only recently and laughed at) but I stayed pretty true to it. The characters knew where they were headed and that was enough. I often find my subconscious is much cleverer than my conscious mind 😛

‘Skeleton’ (due to be published Oct/Nov 2014) was written after I got back off holiday camping in France. We always meet a lot of Dutch people on the campsite so that inspired Jan’s character, a Dutch MC whose trust has been badly wounded by a past betrayal.

 

Check out Raine O’Tierney next week for one of the next stops on the Blog Hop.

 

About sukifleet

Suki Fleet currently lives in the heart of England. Her childhood was quite unconventional and she spent some time living on a boat and travelling at sea with her family. Since she was very small she has always dreamed of writing for a living, but though she has written original fiction online for years and encouraged many new writers to keep going and follow their author dreams, it is only recently she got the courage to make her own dream a reality and actually send something off to a publisher. By day she runs her own business selling fabric (her second love) and juggling family commitments, by night she weaves the stories that the characters in her head dictate. These stories often start with pain or longing but always end with love.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

