So originally my first blog post was going to be about the writing rules/advice I try to live by- the tips that have helped me through hard times and the advice that keeps me sane. But with just over a month until my first novel’s release date and I can only focus on one thing. Self-doubt.

I know it’s normal. I know every writer feels it to a greater or lesser degree (and believe me they do), but right now it is swallowing me like a great intimidating sea. You see, I’m not good at talking about myself or putting myself out there on facebook or tumblr or goodreads, I’d much rather hide away with no connection to the world. It’s why I love writing. I am in control. I can be myself and I feel comfortable. Right now I am way out of my comfort zone and in need of a nice safe raft to cling onto while doubts about why on earth anyone would buy my book or read my blog circle like sharks in this sea.

I do like talking about writing though and I love to hear about other writer’s thoughts and experiences, and photography is a huge love of mine, so that is what I see this blog focusing on and then perhaps the sea and the sharks will leave me be.

 

About sukifleet

Suki Fleet currently lives in the heart of England. Her childhood was quite unconventional and she spent some time living on a boat and travelling at sea with her family. Since she was very small she has always dreamed of writing for a living, but though she has written original fiction online for years and encouraged many new writers to keep going and follow their author dreams, it is only recently she got the courage to make her own dream a reality and actually send something off to a publisher. By day she runs her own business selling fabric (her second love) and juggling family commitments, by night she weaves the stories that the characters in her head dictate. These stories often start with pain or longing but always end with love.
Aside | This entry was posted in Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. Yes. The second paragraph. Yes, yes, yes. I think it’s the letting go of that control that’s scaring me a bit right now, too.

Leave a Reply

